Meet Our Bishops

We are an ad hoc group of nearly 100 Episcopal bishops who have come together to explore means of reducing the appalling levels of gun violence in our society, and to advocate for policies and legislation that save lives. Learn more about us.


Bishop Ian Douglas, Diocese of Connecticut

Bishop Ian Douglas

Ian Douglas was ordained and consecrated on April 17, 2010 as bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut. He previously served as the Angus Dun Professor of Mission and World Christianity at Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, Massachusetts and an associate priest at St. James’s Church, Cambridge, Mass. 

Ian has written extensively on mission, missiology, and the Anglican Communion, and has provided expert commentary and opinion for national media, print and broadcast. He served on the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC) as a priest and on the Standing Committee of the Anglican Communion from the ACC; as a bishop he continues to serve on the Standing Committee of the Anglican Communion. He also served on the Executive Council of The Episcopal Church but resigned after his consecration as bishop. Ian received an honorary degree from Episcopal Divinity School in May 2010.

Bishop Daniel Gutiérrez, Diocese of Pennsylvania

Daniel G. P. Gutiérrez serves as the 16th bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania. The mystery of the Eucharist, scripture, and Jesus Christ are spiritual foundations for Gutiérrez. As a budding (sometimes clumsy but always eager) apprentice of Jesus, he is most influenced by His words to Peter: ‘Feed my sheep.’ He believes there is no greater calling than serving Jesus and following this instruction with each action he takes. He is blessed and grateful to be a bishop, a shepherd and a fellow sojourner. He is married to best friend Suzanne and rejoice in their son Jude, who attends the University of New Mexico. Text

Bishop Steven Miller, Diocese of Milwaukee

Steven Andrew Miller was consecrated on October 18, 2003 as the 11th bishop of the Diocese of Milwaukee. He graduated from Michigan State University in 1979 with a bachelor’s degree in history and received his Master of Divinity degree from the General Theological Seminary in 1984 and was ordained a deacon and a priest that year. In 2004, he was awarded the Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa) by the General Theological Seminary.

Steven previously served parishes in Missouri and Virginia and was noted for his ability to attract young people and families to church life with activities, events and outreach opportunities, including mission outreach to Central America. His early experience kindled a special and ongoing interest in working with congregations in rural areas. He is a certified trainer for the Church Development Institute, specializing in leading vestry retreats and revitalization consultations for congregations of all sizes.

Founding Co-Convener

Bishop Mark Beckwith

Bishop Mark Beckwith

Mark Beckwith was consecrated as the 10th Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Newark in January 2007 and served until his retirement in September 2018. Prior to his election as bishop, Mark was rector of All Saints Church, Worcester, Massachusetts, in the Diocese of Western Massachusetts since 1993. He also served as associate rector of St. Peter’s, Morristown and rector of Christ Church, Hackensack.Mark was a founding co-convener of Bishops United Against Gun Violence. In 2019, he began serving as a bishop liaison to the network to foster relationships and develop partnerships with groups working in the gun violence prevention arena.

Network Bishops

Bishop Skip AdamsThe Episcopal Church in South Carolina
Bishop Laura AhrensDiocese of Connecticut
Bishop Lloyd AllenDiocese of Honduras
Bishop Marc AndrusDiocese of California
Bishop Dave BaileyDiocese of Navajoland
Bishop Scott BarkerDiocese of Nebraska
Bishop Nathan BaxterRetired
Bishop Jennifer Baskerville-BurrowsDiocese of Indianapolis
Bishop Barry BeisnerDiocese of Northern California, retired
Bishop Patrick BellDiocese of Eastern Oregon
Bishop Charles BennisonRetired
Bishop Tom BreidenthalDiocese of Southern Ohio
Bishop Jennifer Brooke-DavidsonDiocese of West Texas
Bishop Thomas BrownDiocese of Maine
Bishop Kevin BrownDiocese of Delaware
Bishop Mariann BuddeDiocese of Washington
Bishop Brian ColeDiocese of East Tennessee
Presiding Bishop Michael CurryPresiding Bishop and Primate of The Episcopal Church
Bishop Jim CurryDiocese of Connecticut
Bishop Andrew DietscheDiocese of New York
Bishop Joe DossDiocese of New York, retired
Bishop Andy DoyleDiocese of Texas
Bishop Francisco DuqueDiocese of Colombia
Bishop DeDe Duncan-ProbeDiocese of Central New York
Bishop Dan EdwardsDiocese of Nevada, retired
Bishop Peter EatonDiocese of Southeast Florida
Bishop Mark EdingtonConvocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe
Bishop Thomas ElyDiocese of Vermont
Bishop Douglas FisherDiocese of Western Massachusetts
Bishop Jeff FisherDiocese of Texas
Bishop Bill FranklinDiocese of Long Island, assisting
Bishop Carol GallagherDiocese of Massachusetts
Bishop Alan GatesDiocese of Massachusetts
Bishop Wendell GibbsDiocese of Michigan
Bishop Susan GoffDiocese of Virginia
Bishop Sandy HamponDiocese of Olympia, retired
Bishop Michael HanleyDiocese of Oregon
Bishop Barbara HarrisDiocese of Massachusetts, retired
Bishop Gayle HarrisDiocese of Massachusetts
Bishop Dena HarrisonDiocese of Texas
Bishop Scott HayashiDiocese of Utah
Bishop Robert HirschfeldDiocese of New Hampshire
Bishop Anne Hodges-CoppleDiocese of North Carolina
Bishop Mark HollingsworthDiocese of Ohio
Bishop Whayne HouglandDiocese of Western Michigan
Bishop Carlye HughesDiocese of Newark
Bishop Michael HunnDiocese of the Rio Grande
Bishop Robert IhloffDiocese of Virginia
Bishop Shannon JohnstonDiocese of Virginia, retired
Bishop Nick KniselyDiocese of Rhode Island
Bishop Chilton KnudsenDiocese of Maine, retired
Bishop Ed KoniecznyDiocese of Oklahoma
Bishop Steve LaneDiocese of Maine, retired
Bishop Jeff LeeDiocese of Chicago
Bishop Kym LucasDiocese of Colorado
Bishop Jim MathesDiocese of San Diego, retired
Bishop Scott MayerDiocese of Northwest Texas and Diocese of Fort Worth
Bishop Jack McKelveyRetired
Bishop José McLoughlinDiocese of Western North Carolina
Bishop Kevin NicholsDiocese of Bethlehem
Bishop Robert O’NeillDiocese of Colorado
Bishop Todd OusleyOffice of Pastoral Development for The Episcopal Church
Bishop Brian PriorDiocese of Minnesota
Bishop Larry ProvenzanoDiocese of Long Island
Bishop Rayford RayDiocese of Northern Michigan
Bishop Jennifer ReddallDiocese of Arizona
Bishop Gretchen RehbergDiocese of Spokane
Bishop David RiceDiocese of San Joaquin
Bishop Greg RickelDiocese of Olympia
Bishop Nedi RiveraDiocese of Eastern Oregon
Bishop Phoebe RoafDiocese of West Tennessee
Bishop Sam RodmanDiocese of North Carolina
Bishop Sean RoweDiocese of Northwestern Pennsylvania and Diocese of Western New York
Bishop Audrey ScanlanDiocese of Central Pennsylvania
Bishop Alan ScarfeDiocese of Iowa
Bishop Allen ShinDiocese of New York
Bishop Prince SinghDiocese of Rochester
Bishop Dabney SmithDiocese of Southwest Florida
Bishop Kirk SmithDiocese of Arizona, retired
Bishop Susan Brown SnookDiocese of San Diego
Bishop Douglas SparksDiocese of Northern Indiana
Bishop Chip StokesDiocese of New Jersey
Bishop Eugene SuttonDiocese of Maryland
Bishop John TaylorDiocese of Los Angeles
Bishop Cabell TennisRetired
Bishop Morris ThompsonDiocese of Louisiana
Bishop Mark Van KoeveringDiocese of Lexington
Bishop Michael VonoDiocese of the Rio Grande, retired
Bishop Jim WaggonerDiocese of Spokane, retired
Bishop Andrew WaldoDiocese of Upper South Carolina
Bishop Cate WaynickDiocese of Eastern Michigan, provisional
Bishop Dean WolfeRector, St. Bart’s NYC
Bishop Pierre WhalonConvocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, retired
In Memoriam:
Bishop Fred BorschRetired, in memoriam
Bishop Tom ShawDiocese of Massachusetts, in memoriam